Come Ride
With The Best!
Receive Our Newsletter Photo Gallery Make a Reservation Hunting Trip Destination EventsBASE CAMP
Bill Cody Map ... just 30 minutes to
Yellowstone National Park
AND 30 minutes to Cody!

Rates, availability, reservations: 800-615-2934 or click here!

HomeLodgeStayDiningLocationThings to DoPhoto GalleryAbout Us
Cabins and Rates
Make Reservation
Breakfast Menu
Dinner Menu
BBQ Menu
Horseback Riding
Cody WY & Buffalo Bill Dam
Special Occasions
Our Friends
Frequently Asked Questions
Trail Rides
At the Ranch
Cody and Yellowstone

Bill Cody Ranch, est. 1925

Bill Cody Ranch Lodge

Guests often ask about the history of the ranch. While Bill Cody Ranch has changed in its almost ninety years of existence, the truth is that is has not changed much. Ever since its establishment, it has offered guests a peaceful, quiet, fun, and authentic Western experience in the heart of the Shoshone National Forest in the Absaroka Mountain Range.



Morris Ranch

Morris Ranch: 1925-1945

In 1925, Leonard and Dorothy Morris laid the groundwork for the main lodge, the Westerner, and the Deluxe Ponderosa cabins. Leonard, a Cody native and Hollywood movie actor named the new establishment the Lazy Bar H Ranch. The ranch operated in conjunction with the Broken H Dude Ranch, owned by Leonard’s father, Fred Morris. At this time, the concept of a “dude ranch” was just entering the American consciousness. Morris was the first rancher to travel east to market tourism for this type of vacation. In its early days, guests at the Lazy Bar H Ranch would enjoy great home cooked meals, horseback riding, pack trips, big game hunting, fishing, and target shooting.


Nameit Creek Ranch

Nameit Creek Lodge: 1945-1971

The ranch stayed in the Morris family through the early 1940s but was closed for brief periods during the Depression and World War II. In 1945, Bill and Mary Walker purchased the ranch and renamed it Nameit Creek Lodge after the creek that runs through the property into the Shoshone River. A few years later, the ranch was sold to Eugene and Adah Petty. The ranch became the Petty’s permanent homestead. The couple added a water and electrical system. They also added space for guests and staff, building the chalet, Ponderosa cabins, and the employee bunkhouse.


Bill Cody Ranch: 1971-1996

From 1968 through the Bill & Barbara Codyearly 1970s, the ranch changed ownership multiple times. It was not until 1971 when the grandson of Buffalo Bill himself purchased the guest ranch, calling it “Bill Cody’s Ranch Inn.” Bill Cody had grown up in the Cody area. His mother was Irma Cody Garlow, the favored daughter of Buffalo Bill after whom the historic Irma Hotel is named. The young Bill Cody left Wyoming to pursue other ventures as a young adult, but Bill Cody Ranch would be where he spent his later years. He and his wife, Barbara, acquired the operation with a small deposit and devoted their next twenty-five years to providing guests with that same Western experience that they loved. During this time, the Bill Cody cabins were added to the ranch to expand its overall guest capacity. The horse herd had diminished to around five, but it grew to over fifty under Bill and Barbara’s direction. 

Bill Cody Ranch: 1996-Present

John and Jamie Parsons owned and managed the property from 1996-2003 and were known for their devotion to the ranch and their relentless hospitality. They eventually sold it to Wai Yee Bonneau of Oregon who owned the ranch for the next seven years. During this time, the Buckaroo triplex was added to the property.

In late 2009, Ronnie and Tonia Stuard of Texas purchased Bill Cody Ranch with the intention to continue to provide a memorable and relaxing vacation for guests from all over the world. The 2015 season marks their sixth year as owners and operators of the the ranch. Just like in 1925, guests can still enjoy great food, hospitality, horseback riding, pack trips, fishing, and big game hunting.

  Ronnie & Tonia Stuard